Reading Experience Database

Basic Search

Advanced Search

Record 19694

Reading Experience:

Leonard Woolf to Lytton Strachey, 13 January 1906: 'I have practically settled down for two weeks here [...] it is one immense sea of hills [...] I walk out onto these & wander from about 7-9 every morning & from 4-6 every evening, the rest of the day I read Voltaire's letters, Huysmans & Henry James.'
Century: 1900-1945
Date: Between 1 Jan 1906 and 13 Jan 1906
Country: Ceylon
Time: n/a
Place: city: Bandarawela
Type of Experience (Reader):
silent aloud unknown
solitary in company unknown
single serial unknown
Type of Experience (Listener):
solitary in company unknown
single serial unknown

Reader/Listener/Reading Group:

Reader:Leonard Woolf
Age Adult (18-100+)
Gender Male
Date of Birth 25 Nov 1880
Socio-economic group: Professional / academic / merchant / farmer
Occupation: Colonial civil servant
Religion: n/a
Country of origin: England
Country of experience: Ceylon
Listeners present if any:
(e.g. family, servants, friends, workmates)
Additional comments: n/a


Text Being Read:

Author: Henry James
Title: n/a
Genre: Fiction
Form of Text: Print: Book
Publication details: n/a
Provenance: unknown


Source Information:

Record ID: 19694  
Source - Print  
  Author: n/a
  Editor: Frederic Spotts
  Title: Letters of Leonard Woolf
  Place of Publication: London
  Date of Publication: 1990
  Vol: n/a
  Page: 110-111; 111
  Additional comments: n/a

Citation: Frederic Spotts (ed.), Letters of Leonard Woolf (London, 1990), p. 110-111; 111,, accessed: 01 June 2023

Additional comments:



Reading Experience Database version 2.0.  Page updated: 27th Apr 2016  3:15pm (GMT)