Reading Experience Database

Basic Search

Advanced Search

Record 19870

Reading Experience:

'The following Ode of [italics] Horace [end italics] bearing some Similitude to my then present Circumstances, I took the Liberty of paraphrasing and sent it to my husband, notwithstanding his former Lectures [that women should not write. There follows LP's version of 'The Seventh Ode of the Third Book of Horace']
Century: 1700-1799
Date: Until: 1 Apr 1734
Country: Ireland
Time: n/a
Place: city: Dublin
Type of Experience (Reader):
silent aloud unknown
solitary in company unknown
single serial unknown
Type of Experience (Listener):
solitary in company unknown
single serial unknown

Reader/Listener/Reading Group:

Reader:Laetitia Pilkington
Age Adult (18-100+)
Gender Female
Date of Birth 1708
Socio-economic group: Clergy (includes all denominations)
Occupation: clergyman's wife
Religion: Anglican
Country of origin: Ireland
Country of experience: Ireland
Listeners present if any:
(e.g. family, servants, friends, workmates)
Additional comments: n/a


Text Being Read:

Author: Horace
Title: Odes
Genre: Classics, Poetry
Form of Text: Print: Book
Publication details: in translation
Provenance: unknown


Source Information:

Record ID: 19870  
Source - Print  
  Author: Laetitia Pilkington
  Editor: A.C. Elias
  Title: Memoirs of Laetitia Pilkington
  Place of Publication: Athens GA
  Date of Publication: 1997
  Vol: I
  Page: 62
  Additional comments: n/a

Citation: Laetitia Pilkington, A.C. Elias (ed.), Memoirs of Laetitia Pilkington (Athens GA, 1997), I, p. 62,, accessed: 24 September 2023

Additional comments:

Date of birth 1708 or 1709. Matthew Pilkington was working in London until april 1734.



Reading Experience Database version 2.0.  Page updated: 27th Apr 2016  3:15pm (GMT)