Reading Experience Database

Basic Search

Advanced Search

Record 2444

Reading Experience:

Byron to Thomas Moore, 9 June 1820; 'Galignani has just sent me the Paris edition of your works (which I wrote to order), and I am glad to see my old friends with a French face. I have been skimming and dipping, in and over them, like a swallow, and as pleased as one.'
Century: 1800-1849
Date: Between 1 Jun 1820 and 9 Jun 1820
Country: Italy
Time: n/a
Place: city: Ravenna
Type of Experience (Reader):
silent aloud unknown
solitary in company unknown
single serial unknown
Type of Experience (Listener):
solitary in company unknown
single serial unknown

Reader/Listener/Reading Group:

Reader:George Gordon Lord Byron
Age Adult (18-100+)
Gender Male
Date of Birth 22 Jan 1788
Socio-economic group: Royalty / aristocracy
Occupation: Writer
Religion: Agnostic
Country of origin: England
Country of experience: Italy
Listeners present if any:
(e.g. family, servants, friends, workmates)
Additional comments: n/a


Text Being Read:

Author: Thomas Moore
Title: Works
Genre: Poetry
Form of Text: Print: Book
Publication details: Paris edition
Provenance: owned


Source Information:

Record ID: 2444  
Source - Print  
  Author: George Gordon Lord Byron
  Editor: Leslie A. Marchand
  Title: Byron's Letters and Journals
  Place of Publication: London
  Date of Publication: 1977
  Vol: 7
  Page: 117
  Additional comments: n/a

Citation: George Gordon Lord Byron, Leslie A. Marchand (ed.), Byron's Letters and Journals (London, 1977), 7, p. 117,, accessed: 04 February 2023

Additional comments:



Reading Experience Database version 2.0.  Page updated: 27th Apr 2016  3:15pm (GMT)