Reading Experience Database
1450-1945

Basic Search

Advanced Search

Record 29280

Reading Experience:

Evidence:

[Letter 24 March 1814]
'''The Wanderer'' is to be out on Monday. It is the most interesting novel I have ever read.'

Century: 1800-1849
Date: Between 1 Jan 1814 and 24 Mar 1814
Country: England
Time: n/a
Place: n/a
   
Type of Experience (Reader):
silent aloud unknown
solitary in company unknown
single serial unknown
Type of Experience (Listener):
solitary in company unknown
single serial unknown

Reader/Listener/Reading Group:

Reader:Fanny Allen
Age Adult (18-100+)
Gender Female
Date of Birth 1781
Socio-economic group: Gentry
Occupation: n/a
Religion: n/a
Country of origin: n/a
Country of experience: England
Listeners present if any:
(e.g. family, servants, friends, workmates)
n/a
Additional comments: n/a

 

Text Being Read:

Author: Frances D'Arblay
Title: The Wanderer
Genre: Fiction
Form of Text: Print: Book
Publication details: Published in 5 vols., London:Longman, Hurst, Rees, Orme, and Browne, 1814
Provenance: unknown

 

Source Information:

Record ID: 29280  
Source - Print  
  Author: n/a
  Editor: Henrietta Litchfield
  Title: Emma Darwin: A Century of Family Letters, 1792-1896
  Place of Publication: New York
  Date of Publication: 1915
  Vol: V 1
  Page: 50
  Additional comments: Letter from Fanny Allen to her niece Elizabeth Wedgwood (sister of Emma Darwin)

Citation: Henrietta Litchfield (ed.), Emma Darwin: A Century of Family Letters, 1792-1896 (New York, 1915), V 1, p. 50, http://can-red-lec.library.dal.ca/Arts/reading/recorddetails2.php?id=29280, accessed: 02 December 2021

Additional comments:

 

 

Reading Experience Database version 2.0.  Page updated: 27th Apr 2016  3:15pm (GMT)