Reading Experience Database

Basic Search

Advanced Search

Record 10347

Reading Experience:

'Nothing material has occurred to me since I returned from Mainhill. I wrote the first half of "Hunsteen" and translated, from the German, the first half of "Mohs";'
Century: 1800-1849
Date: Between 6 May 1820 and 3 Jun 1820
Country: Scotland
Time: n/a
Place: city: Mainhill, near Ecclefechan
Type of Experience (Reader):
silent aloud unknown
solitary in company unknown
single serial unknown
Type of Experience (Listener):
solitary in company unknown
single serial unknown

Reader/Listener/Reading Group:

Reader:Thomas Carlyle
Age Adult (18-100+)
Gender Male
Date of Birth 4 Dec 1795
Socio-economic group: Professional / academic / merchant / farmer
Occupation: Writer / Academic
Religion: Lapsed Calvinist
Country of origin: Scotland
Country of experience: Scotland
Listeners present if any:
(e.g. family, servants, friends, workmates)
Additional comments: n/a


Text Being Read:

Author: Friedrich Mohs
Title: Crystalography
Genre: Science
Form of Text: Print: Book
Publication details: read in German
Provenance: unknown


Source Information:

Record ID: 10347  
Source - Print  
  Author: Thomas Carlyle
  Editor: C R Sanders
  Title: The Collected Letters of Thomas and Jane Welsh Carlyle
  Place of Publication: Durham, North Carolina
  Date of Publication: 1970
  Vol: 1
  Page: 254
  Additional comments: n/a

Citation: Thomas Carlyle, C R Sanders (ed.), The Collected Letters of Thomas and Jane Welsh Carlyle (Durham, North Carolina, 1970), 1, p. 254,, accessed: 21 June 2024

Additional comments:

Take from letter from Thomas Carlyle to Edward Irving, dated 3rd June 1820, written at Mainhill. Pages 253 - 256 in this edition. Exact title of the work is not given.



Reading Experience Database version 2.0.  Page updated: 27th Apr 2016  3:15pm (GMT)