Reading Experience Database

Basic Search

Advanced Search

Record 15989

Reading Experience:

?I am doing principally my Roman Law just now. It is really to me a great pleasure; and it keeps me out of the way of writing, for which I am not in the vein.?
Century: 1850-1899
Date: Between 1 May 1874 and 20 May 1874
Country: Scotland
Time: n/a
Place: city: Swanston (according to editors)
specific address: Swanston Cottage, Lothianburn, Edinburgh
Type of Experience (Reader):
silent aloud unknown
solitary in company unknown
single serial unknown
Type of Experience (Listener):
solitary in company unknown
single serial unknown

Reader/Listener/Reading Group:

Reader:Robert Louis Stevenson
Age Adult (18-100+)
Gender Male
Date of Birth 13 Nov 1850
Socio-economic group: Professional / academic / merchant / farmer
Occupation: Aspiring writer, intermittent law student
Religion: Church of Scotland (wavering)
Country of origin: Scotland
Country of experience: Scotland
Listeners present if any:
(e.g. family, servants, friends, workmates)
Additional comments: n/a


Text Being Read:

Author: unknown
Title: Roman Law
Genre: Law
Form of Text: Print: Book
Publication details: n/a
Provenance: unknown


Source Information:

Record ID: 15989  
Source - Print  
  Author: Robert Louis Stevenson
  Editor: Bradford A. Booth
  Title: Letters of Robert Louis Stevenson, April 1874-July1879
  Place of Publication: New Haven and London
  Date of Publication: 1994
  Vol: 2
  Page: 11
  Additional comments: Co-editor Ernest Mehew. Frm section written Wednesday [20 May 1874] in Letter 274, to Frances Sitwell, pp 10-12, Tuesday-Sunday [19-24 May 1874]. passage refers to RLS's law studies at Edinbrgh University. Dates in square brackets suggested by the editors.

Citation: Robert Louis Stevenson, Bradford A. Booth (ed.), Letters of Robert Louis Stevenson, April 1874-July1879 (New Haven and London, 1994), 2, p. 11,, accessed: 28 February 2024

Additional comments:



Reading Experience Database version 2.0.  Page updated: 27th Apr 2016  3:15pm (GMT)