Reading Experience Database

Basic Search

Advanced Search

Record 17572

Reading Experience:

'[?] I am seen about the garden with large and aged quartos [?]'
Century: 1850-1899
Date: Between 9 Sep 1874 and 13 Sep 1874
Country: North Wales
Time: daytime
Place: city: Barmouth
county: Gwynedd
specific address: Cors y Gedol Arms
other location: Garden
Type of Experience (Reader):
silent aloud unknown
solitary in company unknown
single serial unknown
Type of Experience (Listener):
solitary in company unknown
single serial unknown

Reader/Listener/Reading Group:

Reader:Robert Louis Stevenson
Age Adult (18-100+)
Gender Male
Date of Birth 13 Nov 1850
Socio-economic group: Professional / academic / merchant / farmer
Occupation: Aspiring writer and intermittent law student
Religion: Church of Scotland (wavering)
Country of origin: Scotland
Country of experience: North Wales
Listeners present if any:
(e.g. family, servants, friends, workmates)
Additional comments: n/a


Text Being Read:

Author: unknown
Title: unknown
Genre: Unknown
Form of Text: Print: Book
Publication details: quarto
Provenance: unknown


Source Information:

Record ID: 17572  
Source - Print  
  Author: Robert Louis Stevenson
  Editor: Bradford A. Booth
  Title: The Letters of Robert Louis Stevenson, April 1874-July 1879
  Place of Publication: New Haven and London
  Date of Publication: 1994
  Vol: 2
  Page: 52
  Additional comments: Letter 313, To Sidney Colvin, [13 September 1874]. Co-editor Ernest Mehew The date in square brackets has been added by the editors.

Citation: Robert Louis Stevenson, Bradford A. Booth (ed.), The Letters of Robert Louis Stevenson, April 1874-July 1879 (New Haven and London, 1994), 2, p. 52,, accessed: 28 February 2024

Additional comments:

Identity of the ?aged quartos? not indicated in text or footnotes. Perhaps they were just "old books"? related to RLS's current writings and/or his law studies.



Reading Experience Database version 2.0.  Page updated: 27th Apr 2016  3:15pm (GMT)