Reading Experience Database

Basic Search

Advanced Search

Record 18128

Reading Experience:

'I am daily expecting a letter from you on the subject of the Life of Schiller. I have got a copy of his Works beside me, which I have been glancing over; and I feel anxious to commence the business fo remoulding and enlarging, in due form.'
Century: 1800-1849
Date: Between 14 Jul 1824 and 29 Jul 1824
Country: England
Time: n/a
Place: city: Birmingham
Type of Experience (Reader):
silent aloud unknown
solitary in company unknown
single serial unknown
Type of Experience (Listener):
solitary in company unknown
single serial unknown

Reader/Listener/Reading Group:

Reader:Thomas Carlyle
Age Adult (18-100+)
Gender Female
Date of Birth 4 Dec 1795
Socio-economic group: Professional / academic / merchant / farmer
Occupation: Writer / Academic
Religion: Lapsed Calvinist
Country of origin: Scotland
Country of experience: England
Listeners present if any:
(e.g. family, servants, friends, workmates)
Additional comments: n/a


Text Being Read:

Author: Friedrich Schiller
Title: Works
Genre: Drama, History, Poetry, Philosophy
Form of Text: Print: Book
Publication details: Unknown
Provenance: unknown


Source Information:

Record ID: 18128  
Source - Print  
  Author: Thomas Carlyle
  Editor: C R Sanders
  Title: The Collected Letters of Thomas and Jane Welsh Carlyle
  Place of Publication: Durham, North Carolina
  Date of Publication: 1970
  Vol: 3
  Page: 117
  Additional comments: n/a

Citation: Thomas Carlyle, C R Sanders (ed.), The Collected Letters of Thomas and Jane Welsh Carlyle (Durham, North Carolina, 1970), 3, p. 117,, accessed: 30 November 2023

Additional comments:

Taken from letter from Thomas Carlyle to John Taylor dated 29 July 1824, written at Birmingham. Pages 117 - 118 in this edition. Estimated date range based on Carlyle's approximate arrival in Birmgingham and date of letter to Taylor.



Reading Experience Database version 2.0.  Page updated: 27th Apr 2016  3:15pm (GMT)