Reading Experience Database

Basic Search

Advanced Search

Record 19301

Reading Experience:

'that brings me to say how very much I enjoyed during Meta's invalid days reading again & with deliberation your Art & Study in Italy, - thank you [italics] so [end italics] much for it'
Century: 1850-1899
Date: Until: 16 Apr 1861
Country: England
Time: n/a
Place: city: London
Type of Experience (Reader):
silent aloud unknown
solitary in company unknown
single serial unknown
Type of Experience (Listener):
solitary in company unknown
single serial unknown

Reader/Listener/Reading Group:

Reader:Elizabeth Cleghorn Gaskell
Age Adult (18-100+)
Gender Female
Date of Birth 29 Sep 1810
Socio-economic group: Professional / academic / merchant / farmer
Occupation: writer and clergyman's wife
Religion: Unitarian
Country of origin: England
Country of experience: England
Listeners present if any:
(e.g. family, servants, friends, workmates)
Additional comments: n/a


Text Being Read:

Author: Charles Eliot Norton
Title: Notes of Travel and Study in Italy
Genre: Geography / Travel, Arts / architecture
Form of Text: Print: Book
Publication details: n/a
Provenance: owned
given by Norton


Source Information:

Record ID: 19301  
Source - Print  
  Author: Elizabeth Cleghorn Gaskell
  Editor: J.A.V. Chapple
  Title: Letters of Mrs Gaskell, The
  Place of Publication: Manchester
  Date of Publication: 1997
  Vol: n/a
  Page: 646
  Additional comments: n/a

Citation: Elizabeth Cleghorn Gaskell, J.A.V. Chapple (ed.), Letters of Mrs Gaskell, The (Manchester, 1997), p. 646,, accessed: 02 February 2023

Additional comments:

Additional editor Arthur Pollard. Letter to Charles Eliot Norton. Meta had had her tonsils removed.



Reading Experience Database version 2.0.  Page updated: 27th Apr 2016  3:15pm (GMT)