Reading Experience Database
1450-1945

Basic Search

Advanced Search

Record 19681

Reading Experience:

Evidence:
Leonard Woolf to Lytton Strachey, 27 January 1905: 'I sit in the Kachcheri [a government office] most of the day & sign my name. I play tennis, dine, read Henry James (Jaffna has a library which contains him & [Dinah Craik's] John Halifax, Gentleman), & go to bed.'
Century: 1900-1945
Date: Between 1 Jan 1905 and 27 Jan 1905
Country: Ceylon
Time: n/a
Place: county: Jaffna (province)
   
Type of Experience (Reader):
silent aloud unknown
solitary in company unknown
single serial unknown
Type of Experience (Listener):
solitary in company unknown
single serial unknown

Reader/Listener/Reading Group:

Reader:Leonard Woolf
Age Adult (18-100+)
Gender Male
Date of Birth 25 Nov 1880
Socio-economic group: Professional / academic / merchant / farmer
Occupation: Colonial civil servant
Religion: n/a
Country of origin: England
Country of experience: Ceylon
Listeners present if any:
(e.g. family, servants, friends, workmates)
n/a
Additional comments: n/a

 

Text Being Read:

Author: Henry James
Title: n/a
Genre: Fiction
Form of Text: Print: Book
Publication details: n/a
Provenance: unknown

 

Source Information:

Record ID: 19681  
Source - Print  
  Author: n/a
  Editor: Frederic Spotts
  Title: Letters of Leonard Woolf
  Place of Publication: London
  Date of Publication: 1990
  Vol: n/a
  Page: 75
  Additional comments: n/a

Citation: Frederic Spotts (ed.), Letters of Leonard Woolf (London, 1990), p. 75, http://can-red-lec.library.dal.ca/Arts/reading/recorddetails2.php?id=19681, accessed: 22 April 2024

Additional comments:

 

 

Reading Experience Database version 2.0.  Page updated: 27th Apr 2016  3:15pm (GMT)