Reading Experience Database
1450-1945

Basic Search

Advanced Search

Record 24100

Reading Experience:

Evidence:
'Directly after breakfast, the 'Goodwife' and the Doctor evacuate this apartment, and retire up stairs to the drawing-room, a little place all fitted up like a lady's work-box; where a 'spunk of fire' is lit for the forenoon; and I meanwhile sit scribbling and meditating, and wrestling with the powers of Dulness, till one or two o'clock; when I sally forth into city, or towards the sea-shore, taking care only to be home for the important purpose of consuming my mutton-chop at four. After dinner, we all read learned languages till coffee (which we now often take instead of tea), and so on till bed-time...'
Century: 1800-1849
Date: Between 1 Oct 1826 and 2 Jan 1827
Country: Scotland
Time: evening
Place: specific address: 21 Comely Bank
   
Type of Experience (Reader):
silent aloud unknown
solitary in company unknown
single serial unknown
Type of Experience (Listener):
solitary in company unknown
single serial unknown

Reader/Listener/Reading Group:

Reader:Thomas Carlyle
Age Adult (18-100+)
Gender Male
Date of Birth 4 Dec 1795
Socio-economic group: Professional / academic / merchant / farmer
Occupation: Writer / Academic
Religion: Lapsed Calvinist
Country of origin: Scotland
Country of experience: Scotland
Listeners present if any:
(e.g. family, servants, friends, workmates)
Not clear whether they were each reading their own books, or reading aloud to each other - or a mixture of the two.
Additional comments: n/a

 

Text Being Read:

Author: Unknown
Title: Unknown
Genre: Languages
Form of Text: Print: Book
Publication details: n/a
Provenance: unknown

 

Source Information:

Record ID: 24100  
Source - Print  
  Author: Thomas Carlyle
  Editor: C R Sanders
  Title: The Collected Letters of Thomas and Jane Welsh Carlyle
  Place of Publication: Durham, North Carolina
  Date of Publication: 1970
  Vol: 4
  Page: 184
  Additional comments: n/a

Citation: Thomas Carlyle, C R Sanders (ed.), The Collected Letters of Thomas and Jane Welsh Carlyle (Durham, North Carolina, 1970), 4, p. 184, http://can-red-lec.library.dal.ca/Arts/reading/recorddetails2.php?id=24100, accessed: 19 June 2024

Additional comments:

Taken from letter from TC to Alexander Carlyle, dated 3rd February 1827, written at 21 Comley Bank. Pages 181-186 in this edition. Estimated date range based on when Carlyle and Jane Baillie Welsh married, and the date of this letter.

 

 

Reading Experience Database version 2.0.  Page updated: 27th Apr 2016  3:15pm (GMT)