Reading Experience Database

Basic Search

Advanced Search

Record 6395

Reading Experience:

Henry James to Thomas Sergeant Perry, from home of host family in Bonn, Sunday 5 August 1860: "[on Wednesday morning] We [himself and his brother William] ... commenced study, which simply consists in translating German into English. I am now working at Schiller's play of Maria Stuart, which I like exceedingly, though I do get on so slowly with it ... I worked on ploddingly till dinner-time which is one o'clock."
Century: 1850-1899
Date: 1 Aug 1860
Country: Germany
Time: morning
Place: city: Bonn
specific address: Home of Dr Humpert
location in dwelling: study
Type of Experience (Reader):
silent aloud unknown
solitary in company unknown
single serial unknown
Type of Experience (Listener):
solitary in company unknown
single serial unknown

Reader/Listener/Reading Group:

Reader:Henry James
Age Child (0-17)
Gender Male
Date of Birth 15 Apr 1843
Socio-economic group: Professional / academic / merchant / farmer
Occupation: writer
Religion: unknown
Country of origin: USA
Country of experience: Germany
Listeners present if any:
(e.g. family, servants, friends, workmates)
Additional comments: n/a


Text Being Read:

Author: Friedrich von Schiller
Title: Maria Stuart
Genre: Drama, History
Form of Text: Print: Book
Publication details: n/a
Provenance: unknown


Source Information:

Record ID: 6395  
Source - Print  
  Author: Henry James
  Editor: Leon Edel
  Title: Henry James: Letters
  Place of Publication: Cambridge, Massachusetts
  Date of Publication: 1975
  Vol: 1
  Page: 30
  Additional comments: n/a

Citation: Henry James, Leon Edel (ed.), Henry James: Letters (Cambridge, Massachusetts, 1975), 1, p. 30,, accessed: 16 June 2024

Additional comments:



Reading Experience Database version 2.0.  Page updated: 27th Apr 2016  3:15pm (GMT)