Reading Experience Database

Basic Search

Advanced Search

Record 7534

Reading Experience:

'I know not if there be a Goddess of Sloth - tho' considering that this of all our passions is the least turbulent and most victorious, it could not without partiality be left destitute - But if there be, she certainly looks on with an approving smile - when in a supine posture, I lie for hours with my eyes fixed upon the pages of Lady Morgan's France or the travels of Faujas St Fond - my mind seldon taking the pains even to execrate the imbecile materialism, the tawdry gossiping of the former, or to pity the infirm speculations and the already antiquated mineralogy of the latter.'
Century: 1800-1849
Date: Between 27 Jun 1819 and 14 Jul 1819
Country: Scotland
Time: n/a
Place: city: Mainhill
Type of Experience (Reader):
silent aloud unknown
solitary in company unknown
single serial unknown
Type of Experience (Listener):
solitary in company unknown
single serial unknown

Reader/Listener/Reading Group:

Reader:Thomas Carlyle
Age Adult (18-100+)
Gender Male
Date of Birth 4 Dec 1795
Socio-economic group: Professional / academic / merchant / farmer
Occupation: Writer / Academic
Religion: Lapsed Calvinist
Country of origin: Scotland
Country of experience: Scotland
Listeners present if any:
(e.g. family, servants, friends, workmates)
Additional comments: n/a


Text Being Read:

Author: Lady Sidney Owenson Morgan
Title: France
Genre: Geography / Travel
Form of Text: Print: Book
Publication details: First published London 1817
Provenance: Borrowed (circulating library)


Source Information:

Record ID: 7534  
Source - Print  
  Author: Thomas Carlyle
  Editor: C R Sanders
  Title: The Collected Letters of Thomas and Jane Welsh Carlyle
  Place of Publication: Durham, North Carolina
  Date of Publication: 1970
  Vol: 1
  Page: 190
  Additional comments: n/a

Citation: Thomas Carlyle, C R Sanders (ed.), The Collected Letters of Thomas and Jane Welsh Carlyle (Durham, North Carolina, 1970), 1, p. 190,, accessed: 21 February 2024

Additional comments:

Taken from letter from Carlyle to Robert Mitchell, dated 14th July 1819, written at Mainhill. Pages 188 - 192 in this edition. Details of publication given in editor's notes. Dates of reading based on previous letter (to John Fergusson dated 29th June 1819) in which Carlyle refers to having returned the previous Sunday with the above books from Johnson's circulating library.



Reading Experience Database version 2.0.  Page updated: 27th Apr 2016  3:15pm (GMT)